After a stroke, volunteering helped one man rebuild his life

Heritage Lottery Fund
Celebrating Volunteers’ Week
3 min readMay 31, 2016
Photography by Nigel Hillier

Mancunian teacher Nicholas Duffy was left with no feeling on his left hand side after a stroke in January 2014.

“I was unable to focus or concentrate for any length of time which caused me a great amount of frustration and anxiety,” says Nicholas, 63.

“My ability to integrate and my confidence had been all but destroyed.”

But a visit to Elizabeth Gaskell’s house during the Manchester Literature Festival changed everything.

The Victorian villa on Plymouth Grove is where Gaskell lived from 1850–65 and wrote some of her most famous novels, including Cranford and North and South.

It had recently reopened to the public following an extensive Heritage Lottery Fund-supported restoration when Nicholas visited with his wife Diane in October 2014. The funding also helped the Manchester Historic Buildings Trust take on more volunteers at the house, including tour guides, gardeners and in the tea room.

Photography by Nigel Hillier

After their visit, Nicholas and his wife decided to volunteer. Although nervous at first, over time he became more and more comfortable, particularly due to the help and support of fellow volunteers, visitors and staff, and started to do more research into the Gaskells.

With his experience as a teacher Nicholas has now helped plan and deliver sessions for schools and work as a tour guide, helping visitors follow in the footsteps of Gaskell’s many famous friends including regular visitor Charles Dickens.

I am convinced that had I not volunteered I would not have progressed either so far or so fast, and I certainly would not have had as much to sustain me through the difficulties of everyday life.

Slowly, Nicholas and his colleagues began to notice a real improvement in his health and confidence as the varied experiences of volunteering helped his brain to reconstruct its functionality after the stroke.

Photography by Nigel Hillier

“Volunteering has made such a difference to my ability to select, sequence and present information — processes which my rehabilitation team believed would never return,” he says.

“I am convinced that had I not volunteered I would not have progressed either so far or so fast, and I certainly would not have had as much to sustain me through the difficulties of everyday life.”

Find out more about the Heritage Lottery Fund on our website www.hlf.org.uk or follow us on Twitter.

--

--

Heritage Lottery Fund
Celebrating Volunteers’ Week

We use money raised by National Lottery players to invest in our diverse heritage making a real difference to people across the UK. https://www.hlf.org.uk/