Cent Spotlight #10 - Top of the Leaderboard with @Kweku

The Cent Spotlight is a series focused on all things Cent, covering noteworthy Centians, novel uses for Cent, and other need-to-know info.

Matthew 吾馬太
Cent
4 min readApr 5, 2019

--

Cheers to @fuzzy247 for the dope graphic this week👊🍻

For this week’s Cent Spotlight I spoke with fellow Centian @Kweku.

Since he is #1 on the leaderboard and one of the most active Centians in terms of replies, I’m sure many of you have seen him around on Cent.

If you’re curious about how someone can go from new user to top of the leaderboard in less than 3 months, make sure you check out the following conversation that I had with @Kweku.

[Note: Parts of the conversation may have been lightly edited for clarity]

@matthew: Who is @Kweku? Tell me a little bit about yourself.

@Kweku: Well I’m 23, from Ghana, and I’m a 3rd year university student majoring in IT. In terms of my studies, I’ve been studying both programming - think C++, Java - as well as hardware. Next year I’ll choose which field I want to concentrate on.

Also I come from a family of 5: There’s my father, mother, older brother, me, and my little sister.

@matthew: Now I’ve been wondering this for a while, but is there any special meaning behind your Cent handle?

@Kweku: As I told you I’m from Ghana. And when people are born here in Ghana they assume a special name based on the day of the week that they were born. Since I was born on Wednesday, I received the name Kweku. @Kwame is another Centian who I think is Ghanaian, since his handle means someone who’s born on Saturday.

By the way @matthew, what day of the week were you born?

@matthew: *searches furiously on phone* I was also born on a Wednesday! I’m also a Kweku! So is this name used as something like a middle name in Ghana?

@Kweku: Yes, exactly.

@matthew: Very cool. Ok, so moving on, how and when did you first find out about Cent?

@Kweku: Twitter. I can’t remember the specific crypto account that mentioned Cent, but it led me straight to the site. After I signed up I had some issues setting up my Cent Wallet, and that’s when I actually reached out for help.

And @matthew, you were the one who helped me! After you helped me resolve my issue I made my first post. That was back on January 10th.

@matthew: Yep, I remember that. And when was your 'ah-ha moment' with Cent? When did you fall in love with it?

@Kweku: January 10th. Right after my first post both you and @RingMaster seeded my post over $2 - that’s a little over 10 cedis in Ghana. That’s actually a meaningful amount in Ghana that would make a difference in peoples everyday lives.

Before I found Cent, I was on Steemit for over two years. And you know what? Unlike Cent I barely had any interaction with any real people. Despite the problem with bots over there, I still managed to make a little over $500. But that was during the bull market of 2017.

As you know I’ve already made $350 on Cent in less than 3 months - in the middle of a bear market nonetheless! Cent is just so fun and it really is easy to gain money. At the same time I’ve had so many interesting conversations with other users.

@matthew: Tell me about your ascent up the leaderboard. Did you have any strategy to get to the #1 spot?

@Kweku: There was no special strategy. I just focused on continuously contributing the best replies I could to posts from @Joel and to regular posts like your #BOTI. I’m pretty busy ad a college student, but Cent has been an amazing way for me to make money in my down time.

I saw your tweet the other day about me earning $70 in about a week - in Ghana that’s the equivalent of around 300 cedis! That’s enough to buy a plane ticket from the outskirts of Ghana’s West coast to Accra, the capital of Ghana.

@matthew: Damn, that’s really amazing. So you mainly replied your way to the top of the leaderboard. You didn’t seed at all?

@Kweku: Seeding actually helped push me into the #1 spot. I started seeding - and still do seed - the first posts of new users. I even tip them too. And I leave them inspirational replies to keep going, or if they didn’t post in a way that I think works on Cent, I leave them a friendly tip on how they can improve their next post. And doing that has actually made me money.

@matthew: Obviously Cent has changed a lot - even compared to when you joined - and it’ll keep evolving, but is there anything that you think shouldn’t change?

@Kweku: Tipping, seeding, sorting, bountying - the incentive mechanisms that Cent has are what really sets it apart from any other site. I really hope they stay around. The UI/UX is also so simple. A couple clicks around is all it takes to see what’s what. I hope that stays the same too.

@matthew: Where do you see Cent in a year or two? And where do you see yourself on the leaderboard?

@Kweku: The top 10. I don’t see myself leaving Cent. Ever. Cent is going to take all of Steemit’s steam from back at the peak of the 2017 bull and become even bigger. Cent will become the best crypto site ever.

@matthew: Which Centian would you like to see get spotlighted next?

@Kweku: That’s easy - @mattw. I read his 'Making Cents' posts everyday before class to see what’s up in crypto.

--

--