Cent Spotlight #14 - A Special Chat with @ByteLong

The Cent Spotlight is a series focused on all things Cent, covering noteworthy Centians, novel uses for Cent, and other need-to-know info.

Matthew 吾馬太
Cent
5 min readMay 4, 2019

--

Cheers to @NeelYadav or supplying yet another dope Spotlight graphic

There are inflection points in any successful project - moments after which nothing will ever be the same. To me, the arrival of @ByteLong to Cent is one of those moments.

Reading about @ByteLong’s life as a rice farmerthat first time and literally seeing what he sees down in the rice fields through the pictures he shared, I was thinking, "This. Is. Huge."

And then something beautiful happened. Others saw what I saw and they began to seed his posts too. And they kept on seeding. Then there was the pink bike for his daughter. Now all his friends are joining Cent. It keeps getting better and better.

That’s why I had to speak with @ByteLong for tuis week’s Spotlight. I wanted to try to get to know the man at the core of this special moment on Cent a little better.

Hopefully my chat with him helps a few more of you get to know this incredible user. So, without further ado, please enjoy my chat with @ByteLong.

[Note: Parts of the conversation may have been lightly edited for clarity]

@matthew: Can you tell me a little bit about who @ByteLong is?

@ByteLong: I’m a man from Aceh, Indonesia. This year I turn 31 years old and I have a little daughter and a beloved wife.

I was just becoming an adult when my country fell into a state of disaster following the Aceh tsunami in 2004. A few years after that in 2007, I went to Malaysia. In 2013 I got married, and then in 2016, I returned to my hometown where I’ve been living as a farmer.

@matthew: I’m curious if there’s any special meaning behind your username.

@ByteLong: There is. I first came up with this username when I set up my first YouTube channel.

Most people probably don’t recognize it, but ByteLong is actually a word from the Aceh language. At the same time, it’s also English. In Aceh, ByteLong literally means you – as in not anyone else, but you.

@matthew: What’s the crypto community like in Indonesia?

@ByteLong: I am not so sure of this answer, because the only crypto community that I joined in Indonesia turned out to be a fraud.

Other than that, I founded a community of Steemians who are from rural communities. I have my own channel for this community and I sacrificed quite a lot for it. My goal was to help people who are less fortunate as well as children who do not have parents, but unfortunately, it was all for nothing. You see, all of my hard work – everything that I gave to the community – it simply didn’t bear any fruit.

The people on Steem just don’t care about our presence.

On Cent though, I hope I can help contribute to building something that ends up benefiting many people.

@matthew: How did you first find out about Cent?

@ByteLong:I found out about Cent when I was looking for a web3 browser. After I set up my Cent account out of curiosity, I made a couple of posts, but then I stopped using it for almost 2 months because I needed to focus on my work on the farm caring for plants.

When the rice harvest was approaching and I became less busy, I re-opened Cent and started to post again. It was around this time that I got to know @RingMaster and was invited to join his Discord Channel.

I met a lot of Centians there, and my curiosity towards Cent ignited for the second time. As I learned more about Cent, my interest in Cent continued to increase. Now, whenever I have leisure time, I am active on Cent earning money that’s beginning to make a real difference in my life.

@matthew: When did you realize that Cent was something special?

@ByteLong: I realized Cent was very special after I talked with @RingMaster over a DM on Discord. He was the one who actually suggested that I talk about my life as a farmer. It was that and reading the Cent Vision that really helped me realize how special Cent is.

@matthew: Did you buy your daughter that bike yet?

@ByteLong: Yes, I bought a new bicycle for my daughter. It’s a small bicycle that’s pink, her favorite color. I feel touched to say this.

Last week after I bought the pink bike, my daughter caught a fever and wasn’t able to play with her new bike right away. But after I took her to the doctor and got her medicine, she got well and is now enjoying her first bicycle thanks to the good people on Cent.

@matthew: Tell me more about how you plan on using Cent as another income source.

@ByteLong: I will continue to use Cent to share all of the unique stories that I have as a farmer living in the countryside.
I will continue promoting Cent to many more people around me who don’t have jobs, but are creative in their own way. That way they will be able to earn income on Cent just as I have started to do.

@matthew: Are there any features or functions you want to see added to Cent?

@ByteLong: Cent is actually cool, but if we’re able to upload short videos and can then somehow easily share those posts on Twitter or Reddit, I think more people will be able to find Cent which will increase the number of people posting important and interesting things. Eventually, maybe it will be possible to automatically share posts to places like Twitter without having to go to Twitter first, for example.

@matthew: What’ll Cent be like in two years?

@ByteLong: Cent will become an absolute necessity for people in two years. They’ll need Cent like they need a job, and Cent will become a way to a better life for many people.

@matthew: Which Centian do you want to see Spotlighted next?

@ByteLong: I want to see @RingMaster in the next Cent Spotlight because he has helped inspire so many new users, myself included.

--

--