Cent Spotlight #9 — A Chat with @Sinkas

This is the continuation of a series of articles focused on all things Cent covering noteworthy Centians, novel uses for Cent, and other need-to-know info.

Matthew 吾馬太
Cent
4 min readMar 29, 2019

--

h/t to @Connie for crafting this crisp, clean graphic on super short notice

For this week’s Cent Spotlight I spoke with fellow Centian @Sinkas.

Many of you probably saw his recent post announcing the milestone of earning a whole ETH on Cent.

If you’re curious about the Centian who earned that ETH by solving puzzles and sharing bespoke analysis of all the data and money being generated on Cent, then you will for sure enjoy the conversation we had below.

[Note: Parts of the conversation may have been lightly edited for clarity]

@matthew: Who is @Sinkas? Tell me a little bit about yourself.

@Sinkas: I am 21 years old and an undergrad, studying business-administration at a university in Greece. Graduation is about another year out for me, and I honestly cannot wait to finish up with school. I find it quite boring.

Outside of school I’m a waiter at a night bar which takes up a lot of my time. As you know I really get a kick out of solving puzzles and I’m a big fan of edgy humor and comics like Jimmy Carr.

@matthew: What’s the backstory on your Cent handle?

@Sinkas: It was a name sorta given to me by my 18th nanny when I was younger.

Let me explain.

I have three siblings, and when we were younger my mom had to work a lot so she had to find us a nanny to watch and take care of us. Well, my siblings and I also happened to be little devils. After scaring off 17 nannies, we got our 18th nanny who happened to come from Bulgaria.

My Greek name is Anastassis, and since the Bulgarian equivalent of my name is Anastasinkas my nanny started calling me Anastasinkas. Then my mom started calling me Sinkas. After a while my whole family, including my father, started calling me that and it stuck. Nowadays, if you hear someone calling me Sinkas then that means that he/she and I are close. I don’t let outsiders call me that in my offline life.

@matthew: How did you find out about Cent?

@Sinkas: Sometime around Christmas in 2018 I was at my family home in Athens. I was bored so I was scrolling through Twitter on my mom’s laptop when I came across some Tweet about Cent - I can’t remember which one specifically - and I clicked through to beta.cent.co.

I don’t even think I signed up at first - I clicked around and ended up doing something else because my mom’s laptop is super slow.

After I got back to school after the holidays I remembered Cent, so I signed up and, well, the rest is history.

@matthew: What was the moment or interaction that caused you to get really, really excited about Cent?

@Sinkas: So right after I wrote my first reply, @mckie tipped me 0.0164 ETH.

That’s around €2 euros which is just €1 shy of the average hourly wage of waiters and bartenders in Greece. At that moment I realized Cent was something different. You can really earn some meaningful money here. And your money is your money.

@mckie is a gentleman, a scholar and a legend on Cent

@matthew: I read in your latest post that you earned a half month’s salary since joining 2 months ago. How have you spent your Cent earnings?

@Sinkas: Well actually I haven’t bought much with the crypto I’ve earned outside of some MarbleCards.

Before I found Cent I was investing in crypto from the little bit I’m able to earn working at the night bar. Now that I am earning crypto on Cent, I can buy more groceries and enjoy a couple of beers. My earnings on Cent have really had a major impact on my day to day life as a college student.

@matthew: Where did your interest in data and statistics spring out of?

@Sinkas: I’ve always been an intensely curious person.

When it comes to puzzles I love considering every single little detail that could help lead to a solution. Thinking like the original creator of the puzzle, approaching it with an outside of the box approach, trying to see hidden details - I enjoy all of that.

In terms of statistics, actually, I did really poorly in my university statistics class. Haha

But for sites like Cent or anything interesting on the internet, I love learning bits of trivia and surprising data points.

@matthew: In 1 or 2 years, where do you see Cent? What will your position and earnings on the leaderboard be?

@Sinkas: I think Cent will continue to grow nice and steadily. That said if we experience another bull run similar to what happened around the end of 2017, I think that would totally turbo charge Cent’s growth.

So barring that sort of extreme growth scenario which would obviously juice all the numbers, I could see myself in the Top 50 earning about $300 a month in a year or two.

That would be as much as I’m making in a month working at the night bar now, so if I actually do start earning that much on Cent I will quit that damn bar job right away!

--

--