DeepMind Fellow Profile: Ksenia Saenko

Learn more about Ksenia Saenko, an M.S. Data Science student and one of four DeepMind Fellows at CDS this year

NYU Center for Data Science
Center for Data Science
2 min readOct 3, 2017

--

DeepMind is a leading artificial intelligence research company that tackles real-world challenges ranging from climate change to healthcare. They awarded scholarships to four M.S. in Data Science students at the NYU Center for Data Science (CDS) for the 2017–18 academic year.

Ksenia Saenko

I grew up in Minsk, Belarus and came to the U.S. with my mother when I was 16.

I only spoke a little English at the time, but I enrolled in the Borough of Manhattan Community College, and graduated two years later with a 4.0 GPA. I then transferred to Cornell University and completed a degree in Applied Economics, magna cum laude.

After graduating from Cornell, I joined Schuman Cheese as a Risk Management Analyst. In this role, I created new commodity models and currency reports that became standard decision making tools for the executive team. I was soon promoted to the role of Senior Analyst on the strategy team, where I conducted extensive data analysis to drive corporate and business unit strategic plans. I developed and executed multiple presentations for our senior management team to help them make decisions about which products to launch, and which markets to enter.

I am thrilled to be joining NYU this fall, and to learn more about data science from the country’s leading scholars and practitioners. I am incredibly grateful to DeepMind for making this opportunity available to me, and am looking forward to developing my skills in this exciting field.

--

--

NYU Center for Data Science
Center for Data Science

Official account of the Center for Data Science at NYU, home of the Undergraduate, Master’s, and Ph.D. programs in Data Science.