Another Death at the Office

Hard problems require hard decisions

Thomas Mullen
Centina Pentina
1 min readJun 7, 2021

--

White chair on black background
Photo by Daniel McCullough on Unsplash

Sean Brightman set down his briefcase by the chair. Across the desk, a portly man adjusted his spectacles.

“I see there’s a problem.”

“Yes, Mr Brightman. A murder here at the American Murder Conglomerate.”

“A murder at the Murder Conglomerate. Chance in a million I suppose?”

“Mr Brightman, I feel that you are misreading the gravity of the situation and that you are not taking me entirely seriously.”

“I have come to the only place in the world where murder is legalised, and you wish to employ the services of a lawyer now that someone has been murdered?”

The officer removed his glasses.

“Mr Brightman, I’m afraid there are some complicating factors. The victim was not an employee here. He was a visiting dignitary from Europe.”

“I see. Diplomatic immunity?”

“Fortunately not.”

“Good. Did the deceased have any viable organs you can sell so that you can pay my fee?”

--

--

Thomas Mullen
Centina Pentina

Reformed Abraham Lincoln impersonator crafting tales imbued with wry British wit.