Erasing a Past Event

From everyone’s memory

Nanji Erode
Centina Pentina
2 min readJun 1, 2021

--

Photo by Joshua Sortino on Unsplash

My phone beeped. It was an email from the president of the United States. I have an unusual job and I report directly to the president.

The email had an encrypted file and the usual two-word subject: Memory Erase. He wanted to erase the details of a past event from the memory of every human being and every digital media. He could do this ever since we connected every human’s brain to the supercomputer that runs the entire world.

I logged in to the supercomputer and uploaded the president’s file. I wondered what was the past event he wanted to erase. I would never know since it was safely buried in the encrypted file.

The supercomputer said it would take six hours and twenty-eight minutes to complete the erase. I sighed and pressed the start erase button.

I take a bite of the tuna sandwich and switch on the television. Every channel is playing the State of Union address. The president is at his best, whipping up the crowd with his flawless delivery.

We choose to go to the Moon in this decade and do the other things, not because they are easy, but because they are hard…

--

--

Nanji Erode
Centina Pentina

Ideator, Copywriter, Movie Lover, Science Enthusiast, Minimalist.