Spellbound

You can’t help paying attention

Nanji Erode
Centina Pentina
1 min readApr 1, 2021

--

Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

After a marathon eight-hour brain surgery, I was wheeled into my private room where the surgeon and my wife were waiting. My wife didn’t say anything; she just smiled.

The surgeon greeted me and asked, “Are you ready for the postoperative evaluation?”

I said weakly, “Yes.”

The surgeon gave my wife a sheet of paper and asked her to read it. As soon as she opened her mouth, my mind went blank. I couldn’t see or feel anything. All I could do was listen to every word she said. It was as if I was under her spell.

She finished reading. Instantly everything came back to me. I could see everything in the room and feel my body. The operation was a huge success!

They call it Relationship Surgery. A surgery that transforms your brain to shut down everything and pay attention when it hears a specific voice. All my friends have had it. And they swear it has improved their marriage greatly. I would be a fool not to try it.

--

--

Nanji Erode
Centina Pentina

Ideator, Copywriter, Movie Lover, Science Enthusiast, Minimalist.