FICTION | CENTINA

The Ravens’ Feast

There’s beauty even in death

Ravyne Hawke
Centina Pentina

--

Photo by freestocks.org from Pexels

I hear their song. It calls me near. I traverse this forest to the edge of the field and there they are. Dozens of them squawking, diving, pecking.

I walk closer, reveling in their blue-black feathered dance. I am both in awe and at peace in their presence.

What has them so stirred up?

Closer still. They do not seem to notice me, or they know I am one with them. I cannot tell which.

And then I see light brown and tan fur. Two large chocolate pools dimmed in death. A fawn. A feast for my blessed ravens.

© 2020 Lori Carlson. All Rights Reserved.

Lori Carlson writes Poetry, Fiction, Articles, Creative Non-Fiction and Personal Essays. Most of her topics are centered around Relationships, Spirituality, Life Lessons, Mental Health, Nature, Loss, Death, and the LGBTQ+ community. Check out her personal Medium blog here.

--

--

Ravyne Hawke
Centina Pentina

Writing Coach, Poet, Fiction Writer, Essayist, Artist, Dreamer | “Enlightenment is when a wave realizes it is the Ocean” ~Thich Nhat Hanh