Weekly Centina Prompt: Introducing the Five-Word Challenge

Write a 100-word story including these 5 words: harvest, glow, iron, paint, clock

J.A. Taylor
Centina Pentina

--

Photo by Tony Hand on Unsplash

A Centina can pack a lot into a small package. If you’re used to writing 50-word stories, a Centina gives you twice as many words to express yourself. That’s a good thing because you’re going to need it this week. I hope you like puzzles, because you are going to have to figure out how to fit these five words into a 100-word story: harvest, glow, iron, paint, clock.

“Why those five words?” you ask. I have no idea. Perhaps I was thinking of the harvest moon yesterday — how it’s soft glow on the rusty iron plow in the field forced my mind to paint a picture of former days, like an imaginary clock turning back the wheels of time. Yeah, that was why.

You know what’s great about some words? They can be used as nouns, adjectives, or verbs. Consider the following:

I used to moon people in college. Until I was arrested.
My wife would glow whenever she was pregnant. She’s really bright.
My dad has an iron grip. He still hasn’t let it go.
Paint the town red,” is the greenest expression I’ve ever heard.
“Boy, I’m gonna clock you so hard you won’t be able to tell time.”

--

--