Weekly Pentina Prompt: Memories

Write a 50-word story with a true memory

J.A. Taylor
Centina Pentina

--

Photo by Anita Jankovic on Unsplash

There are many people remembering today.

I remember sitting transfixed to my 11-inch television the morning of September 11th, 2001 as planes collided with the World Trade Center. My college roommate and friend worked only a few blocks from the buildings.

That attack happened just months after our first child was born. I remember him laying in his baby seat on the sofa next to me, oblivious to what was happening. I remember hearing, just two months prior, the doctor’s prognosis of his digestive issues. I remember the night my son started vomiting blood and needed emergency surgery. I remember that glazed look in the surgeon’s eyes and having to sign a document promising I wouldn’t sue the hospital should my son perish during the procedure. I remember fearing the death of my child.

I remember the relief that came with learning my college roommate just happened to be out of town when 9/11 occurred. I remember the consolation of hearing my son survived his surgery and was going to be “just fine.” I remember 19 years later dropping him off at college and wondering if I taught him everything I needed to.

Memories are powerful. They can induce emotion — recreate fear, stir up anger, and rekindle desire. They can paralyze us…

--

--