Best Ideas of Hall of Fame Champions

ken gosnell
CEO Reads
Published in
5 min readFeb 13, 2022

Learning from the best ideas of others is the secret for every successful leader. When you can learn from others, you can learn faster and lead further. Learning from others allows you to avoid the mistakes that others have made and to build off of the best ideas that others have learned through life and experience.

I love learning from others. Proverbs 11:14 states, “For lack of guidance a nation falls, but victory is won through many advisers.” I believe that victory happens when we listen to others and learn from them. One of my favorite components of the CXP CEO Retreat day is when we review the best ideas that we have heard throughout the day. Often is a CEO Retreat day; we have over 200 years of business experience represented at the retreat day.

I have had the good fortune to learn from the wisdom of many leaders, which includes leaders from all walks of life. With the Super Bowl today, let me share with you four of the best ideas that I have learned from the Super Bowl Champions and Hall of Fame football players that I have known.

Kurt Warner — Hall of Fame Class of 2017

Kurt believes in keeping first things first. Kurt wrote a book and developed a foundation both with that same title. Kurt’s first thing has always been his faith. Kurt credits his faith as what gave him the drive to keep pursuing his dream. Kurt once said, “I am where I am because I believed, and I never gave up.” Do you know what your first things are so that you can keep them first?

“I am where I am because I believed, and I never gave up.”

Terrell Owens — Hall of Fame Class of 2018

I really enjoyed Terrell, and I believe that he is greatly misunderstood. Terrell faced a lot of criticism and had to overcome the disbelief of others. Terrell once stated, “people have doubted me and criticized me my whole life, and that is why I am the way that I am.” Terrell didn’t allow the doubts of others to define him; rather, he used the doubts of others to develop him. Anyone of us will doubt ourselves from time to time, but we should use our doubts to inspire us to become more and better and than others think possible.

“people have doubted me and criticized me my whole life, and that is why I am the way that I am.”

Michael Irvin — Hall of Fame Class of 2007

Michael gave me a special moment when he came into the stands to get a picture with my son Kaiden and I. Michael was a multiple-time Super Bowl winner, and his best idea gives us a glimpse into why. Michael stated in his Super Bowl induction speech that “you (can) tell everyone or anyone that has ever doubted, (or) thought they didn’t measure up or wanted to quit, look up, get up, and don’t ever give up.” Success is hard work, and it is often easy to quit. Winners continue to work even after everyone else has quit.

“you (can) tell everyone or anyone that has ever doubted, (or) thought they didn’t measure up or wanted to quit, look up, get up, and don’t ever give up.”

Howie Long — Hall of Fame Class of 2000

Howie’s best idea is about the importance of discipline. Howie is a very disciplined guy. Howie says, “sports ideally teach discipline and commitment. They challenge you and build character for everything you do in life.” It is essential for any leader to be challenged and to strive to find their best self. Business, just like sports, will teach a leader both discipline and commitment. Don’t let your business defeat you; let it challenge you to grow in your discipline and dedication.

“Sports ideally teach discipline and commitment. They challenge you and build character for everything you do in life.”

The best ideas of others inspire us to find our own best and noblest ideas that help us to find victory. Or as Proverbs 11:14 states, “For lack of guidance a nation falls, but victory is won through many advisers.” Indeed the best ideas of others lead us to find our own best ideas, and that is one of the reasons that I enjoy being around leaders and CEOs who are working to Well Done. If you would like to hear the best ideas of others, then join me at a CXP CEO Retreat day and find your room of champions who will one day hear the words Well Done!

About Ken Gosnell:

Ken Gosnell is the CEO and Servant Leader of CEO Experience (CXP). His company serves Christian CEOs and leaders by helping them to hear the words Well Done. CEO Experience provides great retreat experiences for CEOs that both transform them and their organizations that enable them to go further faster. Ken is the publisher of the CXP CEO Executive Guide that is designed to help leaders learn faster by encouraging them to give themselves a monthly learning retreat. His monthly CEO retreats have helped thousands of CEOs and their leadership teams to enhance strategic, operational and people accomplishments. He is a keynote speaker, executive coach, and strategic partner with CEOs and successful business leaders. He is also the author of the book Well Done — Biblical Business Principles to grow a business and a Kingdom Impact due out in early 2020. Ken also writes monthly business, leadership, team, management, and CEO articles for several business magazines and publications, including Forbes, Business.com, YFS Magazine, The Startup, and Executive Vine. Connect with Ken at @ken_gosnell on Twitter or on Linkedin @ https://www.linkedin.com/in/kengosnell/

--

--

ken gosnell
CEO Reads

I am the founder and chief experience officer of CEO Experience (CXP). CXP partners with CEOs and business leaders to help them hear the words Well Done.