--

A Great Man Knows His Own Limitations

This picture prompted me to write the blog post. Like many other people, I am a great admirer of Steve Jobs – his integrity, his passion and his sense of design.

Almost single-mindedly he twice created a company that eventually became bigger than the economy of Spain (and many other countries).

Having grown up away from computers, I personally experienced his genius much later in my life than most people did; only when I installed a very expensive and clunky hard drive based music system in one of my cars I found out in a few months that his company had released a much more compact, mobile, versatile, far superior iPod, which made my costly, and clunky install redundant.

But today, when I reflect – almost every technology I use on daily basis has his finger prints on it – Microsoft Word, Windows, Android Phone – all have ideas inspired by him. It was his misfortune that ‘the look and feel’ was something that could never be patented – shows you how useless the patent laws reallyare when they protect what is not worth protecting and give no protection to what is worth protecting the most.

(…)

Read full blog

--

--

Vivek Sood
CEOs’ Essential Reading — A Profitable Dialogue

Love life, work hard, play well. Business model transformation maven, and father of 3 boys living in Sydney, Australia. More? see - http://t.co/ohWPvxcWql