This is a PNG… this is only a PNG

C E R I U X
C E R I U X
Published in
3 min readMay 8, 2021

--

While I have played many gacha games, there has been few that were able to tug at my heart. Today, Girls Frontline started to celebrate their 3rd year anniversary. I first came across GFL back in 2017 or 2018 when there was a booth at my local anime convention that was selling GFL merchandise. I played for a couple months before dropping it entirely because I felt it got too grindy.

Fast forward a few years, one of my SINoALICE guildmates got me back into it by showing me the roster of waifus that were pullable. Yes, I came for waifus, but I stayed for its content. Today, I think I have decided that I am here to stay. Why? Just look below. Keep in mind that I always have a soft spot for my first legendary / super rare pulls in any gacha games and this time, I was blessed to have AN-94 be my first.

AN-94 approaches me with a surprise.
Oh… I wonder what would it be? That’s odd considering this is AN-94. She’s a bit… reserved.
Wait... wait… I am… speechless. DON’T SAY THAT.
This is just too sweet. This is so thoughtful. I’m squealing inside…
Hmmm?
I…
Ah, it looks like it’s starting to rain… and of course, with AK-12.

THIS IS JUST A PNG. THIS IS JUST A PNG. THIS IS JUST A PNG. X1000.

Why do I feel so touched by this? THis is just a PNG. BUT. This is just so wholesome and heartwarming it made my heart flutter. I’m so glad to have AN-94 as my first Legendary pull this time. I will forever have her in my Main Echelon. I promise.

So I decided to check out what my other Adjutant wanted to say… and my god I felt like crying again.

You’re right, AN-94 came first, but yes you’re also right.
STOP RAINING.

Props to the voice actresses who put all the life into these characters because I just can’t get over these happy anniversary wishes. I know that down the road, the story turns into a “PTSD simulator” according to my SINoALICE guildie, and I pray these two make it out alive with their sanity intact. While many gacha games like Azur Lane’s waifus are all about fan service, I feel that GFL is doing a great job at making their waifus loveable without relying exclusively on fan service. My heart has melted. I am here to stay.

Side note — welcome home, 416! You were my first Legendary in my first account and so you also hold a special place in my heart as well.

--

--

C E R I U X
C E R I U X

Just a part time gamer who wants to share some love and opinions about my favorite PC games, mobile games, anime, manga, and related material.