We’ve lost a friend.

Rest in peace, Robin Williams.

Ô Captain, my Captain. It seems we’ve lost a friend. A good friend. He was such a lovely, funny and brilliant actor, and a great, great man. All my thoughts go obviously to his friends and family. This kind of man should be eternal. I just admire him much. He rocked my childhood. Hook, Dead Poets Society, Mrs Doubtfire, Jumanji… and so on.

I decide to say thank you and pay tribute to him with a few quotes, even if the words are not enough to express this terrible loss.

“Gooooood morning, Vietnam! It’s 0600 hours.”

– Good Morning Vietnam, 1987

“We don’t read and write poetry because it’s cute. We read and write poetry because we are members of the human race.”

– Dead Poets Society, 1989

“My first day as a woman and I’m getting hot flashes.”

– Mrs. Doubtfire, 1993

“A human life is just a heartbeat in heaven.”

– What Dreams May Come, 1998

“Our job is improving the quality of life, not just delaying death.”

– Patch Adams, 1998

“You know what music is? God’s little reminder that there’s something else besides us in this universe; harmonic connection between all living beings, everywhere, even the stars.”

– August Rush, 2007

“All you have to do is think one happy thought, and you’ll fly like me.”

– Hook, 1991

“You don’t know about real loss because it only occurs when you’ve loved something more than you love yourself.
I doubt you’ve ever dared to love anybody that much.”

– Good Will Hunting, 1997

“This might be the one time I’m speechless.”
When he won the Oscar for best supporting actor for Good Will Hunting in 1998

“Na-Nu, Na-Nu.”

– Mork and Mindy, 1978–1982

Real life/standup comedy quotes:

“Why do they call it rush hour when nothing moves?”

“Spring is nature’s way of saying, ‘Let’s party!’ ”

“I feel like Adam when he said to Eve, ‘Back up, I don’t know how big this gets.’ ”

“People say satire is dead. It’s not dead; it’s alive and living in the White House.”

“What’s right is what’s left if you do everything else wrong.”

“Canada’s like a loft apartment over a really great party.”

“Mickey Mouse to a three-year-old is a six-foot-tall rat!”

“Ah, yes, divorce … from the Latin word meaning to rip out a man’s genitals through his wallet.”

“The Statue of Liberty is no longer saying, ‘Give me your poor, your tired, your huddled masses.’ She’s got a baseball bat and yelling, ‘You want a piece of me?’”

“Never pick a fight with an ugly person, they’ve got nothing to lose.”

Genie, you’re free.

--

--

Lisa
They are, they were.

“Lock up your libraries if you like; but there is no gate, no lock, no bolt that you can set upon the freedom of my mind.” ― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One’s Own