Intro: Moon — Academy Jungler

Clutch Gaming
#CGWIN
Published in
2 min readJan 1, 2018

Galen “Moon” Holgate (@Moon1) joins Clutch as Academy Jungler!

Q: What got you started in League?
A:
I started playing league in season 2 when one of my online friends recommended we play together. I got to diamond 1 on multiple accounts but never really took it seriously up until Season 4 worlds. This motivated me to try my hardest to become a pro, knowing if I didn’t I’d regret it forever.

Q: What’s your personal take on Challenger transitioning into Academy League?
A:
It seems like a lot of teams are taking Academy pretty seriously which is really good to hear. I think there’ll be a lot more talent development in NA now that each academy team’s required to have 3 rookies (Total of 30 new players this year getting salary, housing, etc., and learning to be professionally competitive) which is only going to improve NA long term!

Q: What made you decide to join Clutch Gaming?
A:
The main reason I joined CG is because they had the best roster I could have asked for, I’ve only ever heard really good things about our rookies and I know they all have amazing potential long term. There’s another academy member, that we will announce, that is a really good veteran to play side-by-side with. Being in Academy is going to train a whole new skill-set for me and I’m excited to work with my new teammates to be the best team in academy.

Q: Do you have any tips for aspiring pro-league players out there?
A:
My #1 advice to anyone trying to go pro is to keep up a positive attitude in solo queue and don’t play on random smurf names. Building up your name through spamming solo queue and getting known by pros/coaches off the ladder is the most important thing when it comes to finding a team. Don’t get discouraged, this is just the beginning of pro league, you have plenty of time!

Q: What are you looking forward to most in 2018?
A:
Right now I’m looking forward to meeting my teammates in person and building up a connection with everyone! Hopefully I can prove myself as a top jungler but more importantly a top team with CG.

If you have any questions you’d like our academy players or staff to answer, let us know by messaging us on Facebook or tweet us (@ClutchGaming).

--

--