Building a High Performing Company Culture.

Chad Silverstein
The Melody Line
Published in
2 min readMay 8, 2024

--

Photo by Austin Distel on Unsplash

I remember it like yesterday. Complaining to Chet how many people on my team were underperforming. He asked to see our documented expectations. I told him I didn’t have any written down, but assured him that the team has heard me say them 10,000 times. He just sat back, laughed, and told me it was my fault numbers were down. Before I could start my triple-d (defend, deny, destroy), he called in some high performers and asked them to share what they thought the expectations were around here. Let’s just say my head dropped a notch as each one began to speak. Then I got upset when he called what I built a “country club”.

I owned it.

Fast forward 90 days, and close to 15 people were on a PIP (performance improvement plan). Fast forward one year, and many of our exits ended with teammates opting out, leaving with their heads high and a literal high five. Fast forward a few years and we transformed our country club into a culture of high performers who fell in love with our process.

How much accountability lives in your culture? Does it pass the litmus test? This…

--

--

Chad Silverstein
The Melody Line

Chad Silverstein: 25-years experience as a CEO & Founder, sharing entrepreneurial insights & empowering the next generation of leaders.