Anticipation

Kim Smyth
Chalkboard
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2020

A one-line poem celebrating Kathy’s timely prompt.

Kelly Sikkema for Unsplash

Waiting patiently for this year to end
The advent of Christ’s return is upon us
Praying for a future of brightness and hope
And a blessed and joyous Christmas

I’m sure I’m not the only one wishing to put this year behind me. The people I’ve loved and lost weigh heavy on my heart, the stress and discomfort this year has brought us all, with the virus and the disconnect of the entire nation, make me want to hide in a bottle or my bed until it’s all over. (But I don’t)

The passing of my last uncle on my mother’s side and my last aunt on my dad’s side in the space of two weeks has me feeling rather sad and melancholy, so I’m sorry if my message seems mixed. I’m actually feeling like their passing was a blessing, knowing they are not in pain or suffering anymore and have been reunited with the rest of the family in Heaven. I’m sad that their families are feeling lost without them though, and it’s harder when death comes at this time of year. (PS: They both passed from natural causes- not the virus by the way.)

Thankfully, we have the promise of the Lord’s everlasting love to get us through and this is the time of year I feel it the strongest.

Since Advent is the period where we wait for Christ to come and celebrate the day of His birth, I wish you all a Merry Christmas and I pray that 2021 will be a much better year. :)

Thanks to Kathy for the prompt that got me out of my head and onto the job of creating something I hope will encourage and inspire.

Thanks also to her partner in crime, Harper and the whole Chalkboard team!

--

--

Kim Smyth
Chalkboard

Freelance writer/blogger, editor-creator of Twisted Trunk Travels-my new travel blog.