Desire and wisdom

Pantoum after Tamyka Bell

Ram
Chalkboard
1 min readAug 23, 2017

--

Design created by me

Why does wisdom wait till I am beaten?
I know little, but desire runs strong,
Desire’s fruit is bitter but is sweetened,
And below, what feels so right, so wrong

I know little, but desire runs strong,
Sabotaging reason’s rule it marches;
And below, what feels so right, so wrong
Gentle at first, later on it scorches.

Sabotaging reason’s rule it marches.
How do I find a way out of this hell?
Gentle at first, later on it scorches.
Surely wisdom can help me break its spell?

How do I find a way out of this hell?
Desire’s fruit is bitter but is sweetened.
Surely wisdom can help me break its spell?
Why does wisdom wait till I am beaten?

This poem is a part of Passing Pantoums project. I borrowed a pair of lines from this pantoum:

--

--

Ram
Chalkboard

Rivers and valleys/ And mountains with snow-clad peaks/ Made his soul their home