Doubts

A Pantoum after Tamyka Bell

Indira Reddy
Chalkboard
1 min readAug 16, 2017

--

Flickr Image by Erik F. Brandsborg CC BY 2.0

they see just the stride
unrevealing of the fear in me
but doubt coils deep inside
and I look for chances to flee

unrevealing of the fear in me
I watch out pop-eyed
I look for chances to flee
the doubts which bestride

I watch out pop-eyed
the fear never subsides
the doubts which bestride
this clutching of the insides

the fear never subsides
it overwhelms me,
this clutching of the insides
things I feel, you see,

it overwhelms me,
no matter how I hide
things I feel, you see,
I am still terrified

no matter how I hide
with doubt coiling inside
I am still terrified
but I walk with a bold stride

This poem is part of the Passing Pantoums project on Chalkboard. I borrowed a pair of lines from this pantoum:

--

--

Indira Reddy
Chalkboard

Endlessly fascinated by how 26 simple symbols can say so much…