Episode 50

Matthew Querzoli
Chalkboard
Published in
3 min readNov 3, 2019

--

Photo by Mitch Nielsen on Unsplash

After the Bloody Mary, I set about preparing for Bert’s arrival. From the large mortuary cabinet, I exposed the Carcass once again. I could still taste some of Its eyeball jelly stuck between my teeth.

Its right forearm fell away so cleanly as I cleaved through the flesh and bone. Arm ragu today; our special fiftieth episode.

“Daddy?” you called. “When’s Bert coming over?”

I lay the arm down on the stained chopping board. “In about half an hour, sweetie,” I said.

You frowned at the insurmountableness of that thirty minutes.

“Why don’t you go and play outside?” I suggested. “Daddy’s got some work to do before Bert gets here.”

You nodded slowly and slunk out of the kitchen. I heard the bang of a door on your way out.

Using an old fishmongers knife, I worked to separate the meat from the bone. But first, I ran a razor down the arm, ensuring all the hair was removed. It’s a problem when cooking a Carcass — hair is not a texture or taste you want in a dish.

The cold arm gave up its meat with ease and minimal bleeding. I was pleased to see that hanging the Carcass by a hook for a while after Expiration had drained it entirely, captured in a bucket below.

--

--