Frailty

Dr. Furaha Asani
Chalkboard
Published in
1 min readDec 8, 2016

part of the Women : Power series featuring poems by BHD, marika bianca, Rachel B. Baxter, Tamyka Bell, Tre L. Loadholt, Violet Oh and Wild Flower

As I hug her,

her skin so soft to the touch

it strikes me that as a child I never realised

I love her so much.

She takes longer to move than in days past

She smiles more, hesitates less

There is a silent confidence she has

that only in my wildest dreams could I hope to possess.

Her words make the sound,

not her voice

When her wisdom speaks,

everything else becomes background noise.

She sees the frailty in my eyes

In hers, strength is all I see

She assures me I will find my own power in time

and because I am her child, I agree.

--

--

Dr. Furaha Asani
Chalkboard

Migrant. Postdoctoral researcher. Teacher. Mental Health Advocate. Writer. Professional in the streets, loud on the sheets of paper.