Ghouls will be Ghouls

A response to Meg’s Write or Die prompt “Safer Somehow”

Jack Preston King
Chalkboard
2 min readOct 17, 2019

--

Image by SherieBeazley via Pixabay.com/CC0 License

The frantic rapping on my bedroom door.
The nightmare, like so many times before,
tunneling into my waking world.
I suspected my sister was becoming
ghoulish. The last thing I wanted
in front of me. The nightmare was a woman’s
hand; and so much blood. Upon awaking,
my sister stood, bored into my memory,
a nightmare superimposed on reality.
“Oh, Sweetie, I didn’t mean for you
to see this.” She grasped me by the shoulder.
“Now we have to start with the liver.”
My little sister, spatula in hand.
I was too stupefied to respond.

Inspired by Meg’s tantalizing Write or Die prompt, Safer Somehow.

Yes it’s a sonnet! Happy Halloween!

Here’s the blackout:

Read Meg’s unblackedout story here!

Zarina Dara 🥀💃🏻 and Elizabeth Helmich you have been entered to the Hell of the Dead by me. To escape to the Living Hell, you will have to recreate this piece in your own words or extend it as part of the Write or Die collaboration. Failure to comply will leave your name and soul in the Hell of the Dead.

--

--