Holding Wishes

michael.trent
Chalkboard
Published in
1 min readMay 22, 2019

--

The Writing Cooperative and Chalkboard Magnet Poetry Prompt, submission #2

Photo by Jonathan Brinkhorst on Unsplash

Swirling

in a flask. We

hide no details.

Winter is no longer.

You are a carousel

a melon colored

steed, with pigtails,

and skeins. Let me

bathe you, play

cancan music.

The sky inducts,

drops tricycles. Blocks

the wrathful and casual.

Coy, I’ll take your hand

on this path. Forget those

sullen elsewheres.

Because divinations do

need companions. We’ll

be giant pockets

catching pennies

which hold our wishes.

Poem Used, “Cratered” by Star Black, published by The Poetry Section (The Awl), editor Mark Bibbins.

--

--

michael.trent
Chalkboard

Massachusetts born. Stanza Writer. I like to travel; I have been a teacher, and I work online. I have founded a film festival. I like to cook.