Je t’aime beaucoup, Ladybug

Inspired by D. E. Fulford’s One-Line “Ground” Prompt

Sherry Kappel
Chalkboard
1 min readMar 13, 2020

--

My French child imagines herself a mermaid (photo my own)

Splendide French daughter
Hard to hold down but
Grounded now
Trapped between borders

How I wish
You could swim away
Fly
Sky high away
Find your way home

My French child* is a free spirit who’s taking a gap year in college to surf her way up on down the North/Central/South American coasts. Now in Mexico, she is no longer allowed to visit here or a number of the countries south of her. I fear that if she waits too long, she might struggle to get home to France or end up amid a COVID-19 outbreak in a country that is even less equipped to handle it than us. As her mother, of course, I worry. ❤

*She spent the 2014/2015 school year with us and has visited several times since.

Many thanks to Harper and Kathy!

--

--

Sherry Kappel
Chalkboard

Looking for the Kind in Humankind. Heart currently Code Blue.