Pretend

Harper Thorpe
Chalkboard
Published in
1 min readMar 13, 2019

--

Photo by Llanydd Lloyd on Unsplash

I pretended I wasn’t suffering
You pretended you didn’t see
I admitted to pretending
You pretended to care
To be truly happy
I must no longer
Pretend
I am

©2019 HHThorpe. All rights reserved.

Your turn…

THEME: Pretend

Share your own one-line poem on the theme as a response to this post, or write a stand-alone piece if you prefer. Tag your piece “One Line” or “Chalkboard Expresso”, and if you have a stand-alone poem, be sure to leave a link in the response section below.

Want to get notified about the weekly prompts? Complete this form.

Special thanks to our host, Kathy Jacobs and the entire Chalkboard team!

--

--

Harper Thorpe
Chalkboard

Engaged citizen, poet, musician, humorist, family man. I value irreverence, soulfulness, and a big heart. Offering insight, introspection, shock & aw shucks!