Taking Leave

a villanelle after Tamyka Bell

Dewi
Chalkboard
1 min readJun 19, 2017

--

unsplash by David Marcu

As autumn’s clouds drift on a breeze
I close my eyes to sky’s darkening gaze
to put my restless mind at ease

How does one brace at the end of love’s lease
like scarecrow’s wide surrender unfazed
as autumn’s clouds drift on a breeze

Us, this broken china none else sees
as you covered the cracks with glaze
to put my restless mind at ease

These hands, we’ve both tried to seize
back the brief glimpses of rays
as autumn’s clouds drift on a breeze

That love doesn’t, even as we fallen leaves
a wind of comfort lifting the weights
to put my restless mind at ease

I felt your smile in gentle tease
to open these eyes for our final grace
as autumn’s clouds drift on a breeze
to put my restless mind at ease

This poem is part of the Villanelle Vestiges project on Chalkboard. I borrowed the refrains from this villanelle:

--

--