The Magic of His Words

Indira Reddy
Chalkboard
Published in
1 min readMay 11, 2017
Pixabay

From the depths of despair, I look down into
The stark white on black pages of his book,
Force myself to read the first word, first sentence
And in a few moments, I’m captured and catapulted
Into the blissful sunshine of melodious language
Served with acidic splashes of sharp wit and
Generous dollops of soft, gentle humour, that
Drag me, slowly but surely, away from the abyss
And put up an invisible shield around me
Holding me in, keeping me sane

Dedicated to the incomparable P G Wodehouse. I have read and re-read his books so many times and his words never fail to show me the sunshine in the world. I reach for his work, every time I am down and by the time I finish, I have at least the power to resist the dark, one more time, for a few more moments.

A slightly long response to Kathy’s brilliant one-line poetry prompt. Thanks Kathy 😊

--

--

Indira Reddy
Chalkboard

Endlessly fascinated by how 26 simple symbols can say so much…