This Ends With Me

This piece is a Write or Die response to Wayward Twilight Companies by Brian Fehler

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Chalkboard
Published in
2 min readOct 21, 2019

--

Photo by Cederic X on Unsplash

I may never know how this curse that afflicts the men of my family began, but I will end it.

The flaming, winged figures are my constant companions now, with me day and night. They are still mostly distant, unable to reach me quite yet here in the castle.

Besides them, I am alone. And I will always be alone.

I will not marry. I will not pass the name and curse of Pyncheon to any further doomed generations.

I loved and lost, and I will not love again. I miss Eliot with my whole heart, but I could not burden him with the horror that will be the rest of my life. It is better this way: alone forever.

Some nights, the winged devils are able to approach me close enough to torment my dreams and shatter my sleep. And slowly, these infernal nights are becoming more common, the peace more fleeting.

Soon, peace will be only a memory. Soon, the final Madness will come. Soon, it will be over.

James Finn , you have been entered to the Hell of the Dead by me. To escape to the Living Hall, you will have to recreate this piece in your own words or extend it as part of the Write or Die collaboration. Failure to comply will leave your name and soul in the Hell of the Dead.

--

--

Esther Spurrill-Jones
Chalkboard

Poet, lover, thinker, human. Poetry editor at Prism & Pen.