Unbearable

A triolet-interplay by Tamyka Bell, Indira Reddy and Dewi

Indira Reddy
Chalkboard
2 min readJul 10, 2017

--

Pixabay

My shoulders can no more bear this weight
than I can bear the ice in your eyes
or the lies from your tongue or your hate.
My shoulders can no more bear this weight
behind collars that strangle joy’s gait,
I curve my lips in lifeless disguise

my shoulders can no more bear this weight
than I can bear the ice in your eyes

Choking on words left unsaid, I wait,
naught but a bundle of hopeless sighs
I wait for you, for pain to abate
Choking on words left unsaid, I wait
my shoulders can no more bear this weight
than I can bear the ice in your eyes.

Choking on words left unsaid, I wait
naught but a bundle of hopeless sighs

behind collars that strangle joy’s gait.
I curve my lips in lifeless disguise
and taste the honey of freedom’s gate.
Behind collars that strangle joy’s gait
choking on words left unsaid, I wait
naught but a bundle of hopeless sighs

Behind collars that strangle joy’s gait
I curve my lips in lifeless disguise.

Unbearable — The Reflection

I cannot bear this ice in your eyes.
No more can my shoulders bear this weight
of senseless hate burning with your lies.
I cannot bear this ice in your eyes.
Naught but a bundle of hopeless sighs
I choke on words left unsaid, I wait.

I cannot bear this ice in your eyes
No more can my shoulders bear this weight

Naught but a bundle of hopeless sighs
I choke on words left unsaid, I wait,
A broken pawn in this sad stalemate
Naught but a bundle of hopeless sighs
I curve my lips in lifeless disguise
behind collars that strangle joy’s gait
Naught but a bundle of hopeless sighs
I choke on words left unsaid, I wait.

I curve my lips in lifeless disguise
behind collars that strangle joy’s gait
and taste the honey of freedom’s gate.
I curve my lips in lifeless disguise
I cannot bear this ice in your eyes.
No more can my shoulders bear this weight

I curve my lips in lifeless disguise.
Behind collars that strangle joy’s gait

--

--

Indira Reddy
Chalkboard

Endlessly fascinated by how 26 simple symbols can say so much…