The female founders behind Challenging Challenges

Challenging Challenges
Demystifying
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2019

Here we are, representing not just female co-founders, but women from the Middle East. 👋

Olivia is Assyrian and Katy is a Persian-Palestinian and Scottish hybrid (yes, we’re aware Scotland is not in the Middle East).

We thought it might be more enjoyable for you all if we combine our “get to know” pieces together because after all, we are family (not in the “fam” sense, but real-life family, we’re cousins).

Katy: Why do you believe in Challenging Challenges?

Olivia: I believe in it because the app we’re creating is something that I really wish I had in all the industries I’ve worked at. I’ve jumped industries and jobs and always felt that the industry isn’t for me, but then I realised it’s the environment that wasn’t great. It took a while for me to realise this. That’s why I really believe in the Challenging Challenges app, because it’s something that will help teams and people.

Olivia: What do you hope Challenging Challenges grows into?

Katy: Did you just ask me the same question?

Olivia: No, you asked me why do you believe in Challenging Challenges? I’m asking you what do you hope it grows into.

Katy: Ah, yeah…I could just read your answer from earlier.

Olivia: Hey, make sure you mention the hashtag #ChallengeThis!

Katy: I think that if we can be part of the group of people who are responsible for reducing mental health issues globally, as well as boost productivity and happiness in the world — then I’ll be happy with Challenging Challenges.

I want it to be a revolution and a movement.

Oh, and of course our trending hashtag.

Katy: What do you do at Challenging Challenges?

Olivia: I take care of the sales and go to market strategy. Who are our competitors, how can we make our app the best, what are they doing that is improving people’s lives, and how can we learn from them? It’s also figuring out our market fit, and helping our target audience solve their problem.

Katy: So, you’re essentially our hustler.

Olivia: Yep, I’m the hustler.

Katy: That should be your title.

Katy: You have to ask one back, that’s how this works…

Olivia: I’m thinking, I’m thinking! You started a few startups, you work in a company that is an investor and an accelerator. That means you see a lot of people coming in to start their companies. What is your advice to women who want to start their own business?

Katy: That was what I was going to ask you. Dammit.

Olivia: Great minds…

Katy: OK, so I’ll start how you’d phrase it, from the wise words of Cher: “Just do it, bitches.” It’s so hard for women to get funding in the startup world. 3% of funding from VCs and investors goes towards female-led startups, which is such a huge turn-off. It makes women think they can’t build something. You can. If you have the right concept, market fit and product — do it. Don’t let anyone stand in your way. Go with your gut. We built Challenging Challenges with our gut, that’s why it grew so quickly.

Katy: What’s the one word that you would want people to take away when thinking about our app CC?

Olivia: Empower.

Olivia: I want to ask you, what do you love about yourself? Because I know what I love about you but want you to say what you love about yourself.

Katy: (laughs) I love that I have ADHD which means I can do 200 things at once, and that I don’t take myself too seriously.

Olivia: And I love those about you too.

Katy: You have to, we’re related.

Want to know more about our app? Reach out to Olivia ✍️olivia@challengingchallenges.com

--

--