Run 16-bit DOS applications on Windows 10/11

Chamila Ambahera
chamiz
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2018

Today I wanted to execute my old CMD game which played during childhood.

After downloading that old CMD app, I tried to execute it directly. However, I got the below message and the app was not opened.

I tried to change the compatibility options of the application, however still couldn’t execute the application.

After doing a Google search I found that I can execute it using a DOS virtual machine.

So I thought it would be a good idea to write an article about steps that I followed to execute my old game successfully because I believe someone else also has the same interest will also face the same issue that I faced.

Setting up DOS VM

Steps

  1. Download DOSBox app

2. Install and execute DOSBox application

3. Create a new folder in C: drive

4. Mount it to DosBOX

Z:\>MOUNT C C:\OLDGAMES
Drive C mounted as local directory C:\OLDGAMES\

5. Copy your old game folder to the mounted directory (C:\OLDGAMES\DOSGAMES)

6. Navigate to the newly copied directory in the DOXBOX command prompt.

Z:\>C:
C:\>
C:\> cd DOSGAMES
C:\DOSGAMES> ***.exe

You are done.

More details on DosBox https://www.dosbox.com/wiki/Basic_Setup_and_Installation_of_DosBox

--

--

Chamila Ambahera
chamiz
Editor for

Principle Automation Engineer | Arctic Code Vault Contributor | Trained Over 500 engineers