10 Behaviors That Are Necessary for True Friendship

“The truth is, everyone is going to hurt you. You just got to find the ones worth suffering for.” ― Bob Marley

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By John Persico

I confess I ended a number of friendships this past year. I decided to simply “let go” of people who don’t call me or who do not seem to have any interest in whether I am alive or dead. I can’t say this task was easy.

I have misgivings about when and how I have approached the effort. My solution has been to simply not call or contact others unless they contact me. I have for many years felt like I was the one doing most of the work in several “friendships.” I am not sure whether it is the “parsimony” of old age (i.e., only so much time left on this earth) or simply laziness. Somehow though, I thought: “Well, if they want to see me, they can call me for a change.” Maybe it simply means that I do not care about friendship enough to invest the work they need. I even had misgivings over my “best friend.” I began to feel that we had drifted apart over the years and no longer had the basis for a friendship.

In On Friends and Friendship, I described some basic theories of friendships and went back to the ideas of Aristotle to help describe what friendship is and the types of friendship…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com