3 Main Reasons Why We Are Scared To Talk About Our Faith

Nate Peterson
Change Becomes You
Published in
5 min readSep 27, 2020

--

Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

If you have ever been a person of faith, like me, faith in any kind of Higher Power, then you probably know how exhilarating it is to know you are being watched and cared for by powers of seeming invincibility! On the other hand, over time, you may have realized that it’s not nearly as easy as it used to be to share your faith. You still know the truth, those past experiences are still deep within your heart, but, like me, you may have lost all desire to share your experiences and try to touch people’s lives with things that could move them to tears of joy. Why have we lost this fire? And what steps can we try to take to rekindle ourselves? I’ve come up with three common reasons, along with some simple ideas for solutions we can try together to get our spirits back on their floaty-feet-thingies, and get that joyous twinkle back in our otherwise, tired, hopeless eyes.

1. We pushed people too hard before.

I know this is true for me. When I first grasped a strong hold on my faith, I got so excited and motivated, that I absolutely NEEDED EVERYBODY to see this belief in exactly the same way I saw it! I became excessively preachy, I constantly badgered people to do the things I did. When bad things happened to people, I bluntly blamed the fact that they weren’t doing what they were supposed to be doing… I…

--

--

Nate Peterson
Change Becomes You

I’m the best husband ever, an excellent cook, a profound blogger, and a serious journaling guru. Check me out at www.goodmannate.org.