4 Ways I Personally Grew From Creating Over 200 Videos Of Myself

It’s not always about content creation.

Katharine Chan
Change Becomes You

--

Photo by Cristina Zaragoza on Unsplash

I’ve been a writer since I could remember but I only started blogging 3.5 years ago. Why?

Because I was scared. I was scared to put my writing out there without the academic label, the business structure, the multiple edits from other people and that final stamp of approval from a manager, a committee, a professor etc. I was afraid to own my writing and be on the hook whether it dive-bombed into the abyss or grew wings and soared with the eagles.

But after I became a mom, I realized, there are scarier things in this world than my fears of what others thought. My reasons to blog (preservation of my culture, family stories, life lessons to help others etc) outweighed my reasons not.

Then 2 years ago, I was listening to Gary Vaynerchuk’s podcast and he kept mentioning that people want their content delivered in multiple ways, not just through the written word. Gary’s voice echoed in my mind at night, reiterating,

“Don’t overthink shit.”

“People are crippled by perfection.”

I needed to start exploring audio and visual methods of creating content. So I set a goal to make a video. Just one video.

--

--

Katharine Chan
Change Becomes You

Sum (心, ♡) on Sleeve | Author. Speaker. Wife. Mom of 2 | Embrace Culture. Love Yourself. Improve Relationships | sumonsleeve.com/books