5 Tips to Maintain a Healthy Relationship When Recovering From Codependency

Alexandra Ringer
Change Becomes You
Published in
4 min readJan 30, 2020

--

When I came to realize I struggled with codependency I thought I could never become attached to a human being again. I was fearful that by doing so my life would spiral out of control how it had always before in my previous, highly codependent, relationships.

Ironically, I met my boyfriend one month into my recovery. In the beginning, I was terrified. Was I going to repeat the behaviors, the cycles, and the awful ending of my previous relationship due to my codependent ways?

Somehow how I used this fear to discover exactly how I wouldn’t let that happen. Without that fear, I have no doubt I would have dove right into my old codependent ways. It became my motivation.

And my relationship has been a successful, healthy, and thriving one.

Here are the 5 tips to ensure your relationship can be the same while recovering from codependency:

1. Self Reflection

Being in a relationship is going to bring up a lot. A lot of good but also a lot of hard. This is going to include triggers, emotions, and memories you may not have wanted to feel.

It will also bring up behaviors, including the ones you may consider character defects. Feel it all. Examine what is coming up…

--

--

Alexandra Ringer
Change Becomes You

Life Coach & Writer on how to end toxic cycles appearing in your life and manifest the dream. I use my own story to inspire you✨ IG: @recov.her.y