Fear Is What Stands Between You and Happiness

Everything good in life stands on the other side of fear.

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

--

Photo credit: iStock

By Dustin “Doc” Lehmann

I remember lining up in a field before boarding the bus that would take me to the aircraft that would take me across an ocean and set me down on foreign soil before my first deployment. While I was afraid, it wasn’t the only emotion I felt. I also felt adrenaline, excitement, anticipation, and eagerness. I was a newly minted combat medic and the greatest adventure I could imagine at that point in my life was about to begin.

Fear is always a part of our lives. Fear keeps us from actualizing our full potential, but there’s more to it than that. You have to understand your fear. Fear lets us know that we are alive, that we are still here, and that we care. Without pain, how can we understand pleasure? That same principle applies to fear. Without overcoming the fear of something new, we wouldn’t appreciate the achievement. There’s even a saying about it, “The best things in life don’t come easy.”

Over the years I’ve learned that particular saying is one of the most accurate colloquialisms. From that moment on the bus there have been many others like it, where fear has stood between me and what I wanted:

  • Getting out of the Army and moving to a new…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com