How to Deal with Online Bullying

Christopher Massimine
Change Becomes You
Published in
7 min readNov 11, 2022

--

Cyber bullying is a serious problem in schools. It can take the form of physical and emotional abuse, and it doesn’t just happen to kids.

Photo by Hamid Tajik, courtesy of Unsplash

It’s never okay to bully someone online, and you’re not alone in having to deal with this kind of harassment. I struggled without a voice for over a year before I committed to openly telling people about how intensely I’ve been cyber bullied and publicly shamed over a matter that warranted consequences, but not abuse. In my case, I fabricated some details of my résumé in a job for which I was already well qualified even without the fabrications. It doesn’t change the fact that I have great remorse for my actions — and I know what I did was wrong. And even though my actions didn’t hurt anyone, I have been a continuous target of ridicule and abuse online.

There are many resources available that can help you. You can talk to friends or family members, who know your situation best and will be able to support you when the time comes for action. You can also seek professional assistance from a therapist or counselor at school or in your community. If none of these options work for you, there is another way: The Internet has been around long enough (and grown large enough) that there are plenty of places where people like yourself are gathering together for support.

--

--

Christopher Massimine
Change Becomes You

Christopher Massimine is an entrepreneur, mental health advocate, biz devo expert, contributor for “Entrepreneur,” & EP of the animated feature “The Inventor.”