How to Improve Your Body Image — Because Weight Loss Won’t Help

From trashing your scale to changing your thoughts to unfollowing diet accounts.

Ashley Broadwater
Change Becomes You

--

Photo by Taylor Smith on Unsplash

Ever since I was young, I’ve disliked my thighs. How they touch, how they rub together, how they balloon out when I sit down. No matter my size, I’ve always felt like they were too big.

I longingly stared at girls with thinner legs, and even engaged in disordered eating in hopes of having thighs more like theirs.

But contrary to popular belief, weight loss cannot cure bad body image.

The reason why is due to a variety of factors, in which the main two I understand are these:

First , “fat” is not a feeling. When you’re “feeling fat,” ask yourself what you’re really feeling. Are you feeling bloated, insecure, unloved? Are you feeling out of control, inadequate, triggered? These feelings can manifest as insecurities about our bodies; our body image can change as our emotions change.

Second, the weight you lose will never be enough. You’ll want to lose more and more weight. You’ll find new parts of your body to hate. You’ll struggle to maintain that weight loss since 97 percent of dieters regain the weight they lost plus more.

--

--

Ashley Broadwater
Change Becomes You

Freelance writer on multiple platforms. On Medium: writing tips + relationships. UNC-CH Journalism + Media. Newsletter + more: www.linktr.ee/ashleybroadwater