I Learned How To Untrap My Potential and Realize My Dreams

By applying these principles…they actually work!

Ria Vanessa Caliste
Change Becomes You
4 min readAug 25, 2021

--

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I get it, you know you can do more.

You want to do more.

Sometimes the excuses are there, sometimes it is setbacks, unexpected obstacles — health, family, work and so the list of obstacles that can be listed goes on.

You may, like me, have watched on at particular persons who succeed and think they didn’t face the challenges that you are having and so they are able to achieve.

Yet as I have grown in my maturity, I realize every single person who has achieved and reached their potential have faced many obstacles.

The difference between them and us is that they didn’t give up or give in to the challenges.

I recently considered what matters the most to me?

The answer surprised even me, I thought it was travelling the world or doing some other adventurous feat.

Yet the answer in a quiet way whispered to me — achieving my potential and doing what I was placed here on this earth to do.

It’s not that you haven’t tried.

The business, the book, the design, whatever it may be, you have truly tried. Not once, several times.

Yet something eventually caused the fire to died down. Not out. But die down in you…So when someone else comes to talk about pursuing relentlessly you listen, you consider, yet somehow, somewhere you seem to be stuck, unable to try another time and not sure how to even begin to want to try again.

Sounds familiar?

This has been me on so many occasions.

Sometimes you get tired of trying and failing, sometimes you just get tired overall and feel as if you are stuck in the rat race, between the job, the family along with the myriad of other responsibilities of adulthood.

The dream that had seemed so near to the surface, birthed in a desire to step up and into your full potential seems to have somehow not vanished, but been pushed a bit to the background.

Ever so often you think about it and wonder if and when you can do so.

At times you may restart again and yet unable to maintain the momentum to push you over the threshold of where you have been before. In exasperation you give up and say what’s the use.

All this was and still is sometimes me.

The struggle to achieve your full potential is real.

It is filled with obstacles, discouragement and sometimes a sense of fear that all the effort may be in vain.

Yet in all of this, there is a moment you realize that you really want to find a way to consistently untrap your potential and move in the direction of your goals, because when all is said and done, that’s what life is about.

Some things that helped successful people in achieving their potential and can help you in the pathway to untrap that potential that seems stuck is a few steps here.

Learn to expect obstacles and be prepared to deal with it.

I know I didn’t want to hear this either.

I thought once I walked in the direction of my dreams…everything will line up… I was so wrong…more than anything as I step more and more into the direction of my goals. The obstacles have been more than even before!

I finally learned that preparing for such is better as even though it may derail you for a time, it will not stop you completely on the way to the goal.

Stay away from negative people

Sadly most times in pursuing a dream, not much people will support you and you have your own internal negative thoughts that seem to overtake at times. There is no need to have more from external sources!!

Sometimes the best thing to say is nothing to anyone until you have progressed and completed.

Find ways to encourage yourself

I am an introvert and so talking about my moments of discouragement was hard for me. However, as I read about other authors who continued relentlessly in pursuing their goal, it has been an inspiration to get me moving again.

Visualize achieving the goals

One of the things that have helped me in recent months, is putting my goals before me and seeing it every time I awake. By constantly seeing it and planning the various progress steps, can keep you on track and staying unstuck.

Find great reference resources

This is something I am now learning. Whatever you want to do find persons who have done it before and learn from them, it’s not about reinventing the wheel, but getting ideas from those who have gone before.

Refuse to quit

This may sound silly, but refuse to quit, even if you stop for some time, even if others seem to be progressing further than you …Refuse to totally give up!

Spiritual connection and meditation

Finally but not the least of these, connect to your spiritual self.

In whatever form that is for you, spend time engaging in meditation and having positive affirmations you say to yourself daily or if necessary moment by moment.

The dream , the goal may seem to be unattainable at the moment, but I have good news!

No matter how far off or impossible it may look now, you can still unlock that potential that wants to birth in you and progress in the steps of achieving what you were placed here for.

So don’t give up, don’t wait for the perfect time or situation, start here…start now…

--

--

Ria Vanessa Caliste
Change Becomes You

Engaging on a life long path of self discovery. Counselor, Writer for life. Connect with me at: axiomcounsel@gmail.com or www.axiomcounsel.com