I Think, Therefore I Am: Another Problem for the Mind to Solve

Finding stillness is key.

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

--

Photo Credit: Shutterstock

By Patrick Borkland

For as long as I can remember, I believed I could get through any difficult situation as long as I sat back and thought about it hard enough. What could be too difficult to handle as long as I focus my over-thinking? I enabled my mind to have free reign over what I believed to be myself. I don’t have enough friends? No problem, I’ll think of a strategy of how best to become more popular. I don’t have enough money? That’s okay let me think about how best to get money from others. Oh, my parents are getting a divorce? That shouldn’t be a problem! As long as I turn to my handy-dandy mind…

The mind loves finding solutions, even when there isn’t a problem. It always seemed as if there was another thirst for my mind to latch onto, another problem that needed fixing. I found pride in searching for solutions. It was happy to treat people, places, and things as purely a means-to-an-end, but even when my mind had plenty of problems to focus on, I wasn’t happy. Why? Where was my fulfillment?

Eckhart Tolle discusses the power of connecting with the “true self.” Problems arise, as he beautifully explains, when the egoic mind becomes who we think we are. Tolle argues that we are not our minds. “I think, therefore I…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com