Photo by Payton Tuttle on Unsplash

If you don’t have 1000 people at your funeral, have you failed at life?

How do you keep your compass pointed North?

Zackary Henson
Change Becomes You
Published in
4 min readMar 5, 2023

--

I’ve done a lot of people-pleasing in my life.

I’ve done it enough, that as an adult meat case, I don’t realize that I’m doing it.

Most of the time, we exist so deeply in particular parts of our story, that we don’t see the detrimental effect they have on our self-worth and boundaries.

But, let’s move on…

Why does the heart suffer so much?

It’s not an easy question to answer. And it’s most likely different for you than it is for me.

My best answer thus far is that I’ve lived my life trying to be the healing for everyone else, but never myself. I starved myself of care and self-appreciation and self-driven power.

Until recently.

But in the realization of this, I had to find a way to keep myself from blaming the world and resenting it. I had to find a way to love people and also love myself.

I knew that being of service to others still needed to be part of my mission and my purpose.

But how could I not feel used, yet still show up?

--

--

Zackary Henson
Change Becomes You

Writer who questions everything. Self, Behavior, Perspective, Connection. Truth and love. https://therebelminded.substack.com zackary@therebelminded.com