It is easier said than done.

Navigating the gap between Intention and Action.

Morireoluwa ‘Tuase
Change Becomes You
2 min readMar 1, 2024

--

“This is a new year, I’m going to make journaling a thing. I’ve been out of the gym for over five years, this year we’re not slacking, we’re getting that body! I’m really going to make reading a habit, I don’t like that I’m very bad at it. OMG! Look at your hair girl, you really should start a hair care routine, do better!”

All these and many more did I plan for 2023, and if you’ll ask me how it all went, I’ll just laugh and then run away.

When I said and made these plans, I meant them all, I honestly did.

So, why did the year end without me achieving any of these goals I’d set for myself? Well, maybe I just couldn’t stay consistent, or I was too scared to even start, or did I find them overwhelming? I think I just didn’t know where or how to start.

Often times, what we lack is the determination to persevere, to not grow weary when things fall out. And at other times, all we need is help to recognize the areas where we need to improve. I think that it is also important to find encouragement in the little victories and successes, as well as learn from mistakes without giving up.

For real man, many things are easier said than done. Especially when it’s about someone else, we’re quick to stating out how they could have done one thing or the other better.

Setting goals and achieving them aren’t impossible. We just need a little touch of the important things here and there. And most importantly, don’t try to get ahead of yourself, take one step at a time.

--

--