Memory Box

Those things I never threw away, I should have thrown away, now I can’t throw them away.

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

--

Photo credit: author

By Jeff Cann

A souvenir glass from a Brickskeller beer tasting, German Doppelbocks, the same night America bombed Iraq. Operation Desert Storm, they called it, but I didn’t know this until the morning paper arrived. Still wet from my shower as I primped to head out for the night, I saw on TV that the attack had started. I called Joe. “Hey, are you still going?” The next morning at work, our receptionist almost shouted into the phone: “No mom, don’t cancel your dentist appointment. You can’t stop living your life.” War was new to us then.

A forgotten spring, oversized and painted black, rust shows through. Unique, therefore special. A remnant of a sleeper sofa? A murphy bed? A worthless treasure like my wooden dice from Williamsburg, my commemorative aluminum coins from the Munich Olympics, or my hacky sack from college. Those things I never threw away, I should have thrown away, now I can’t throw them away.

A pair of silent movies on eight-millimeter film — the Keystone Cops and Laurel and Hardy. I watched them with my dad’s dinosaur projector, already an antique when I was born. We watched family home movies as well, projected on the wall above the mantel, forwards and then backwards. Our day at Great…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com