Myth Busting: What Does It Mean To Be a Man?

James Fell cracks the stereotypes of what does and doesn’t make a man.

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

--

Photo credit: Abby Savage on Unsplash

By James Fell

Grow a beard. Drive a truck. Kill something. Eat it. Wash down with beer. Screw hot chicks.

Wait. Let’s try that again.

Care for the planet. Be kind and gentlemanly. Dress for success. Be hygienic. Be a provider. Choose your own path. Hmmm…still doesn’t feel quite right.

Let’s try this one more time. Have a penis. Be old enough to vote.

THERE! Friggin’ nailed it!

Well, if I’m looking at it only from the traditional biological description of gender I nailed it. I know that our understanding of gender is in flux, and it’s not something I’m completely up on. Last week I met a nice young boy who is anatomically female. For the sake of my own limitations of knowledge on this subject, I’m going to say that being a man means you identify as a man. *

Push in the Clutch

I drive a 5-speed, and I guess that’s manly. Shifting gears feels manly. Vroom, vroom. I think it’s time to shift gears on how we define gender roles because they don’t make a lot of sense any longer. I’ve been thinking about what it really does mean to be a man, discussing all…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com