That Time I Won the Lottery

When I get ticked off at life, I play the lottery.

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Jeff Cann

When I get ticked off at life, I play the lottery.

When I’m frustrated by my earnings, by my job, by my writing, by my health, the lottery distracts me. The lottery gives me hope. I drop a buck. Always on the quick-pick. I have no premonitions. I’d be embarrassed to presume a hunch. I’m vaguely embarrassed to be playing at all. It’s a dollar I could spend on anything else. Once the ticket is bought, I start spending the money in my head. I spend it on my family and on the community. I buy my kids gifts that make them feel special. I buy the non-profits the things they really need.

I feel the disappointment deep in my stomach when I don’t win.

Last Friday, I bought a lottery ticket. I did this while running an errand for work. 7–11 is next door to the bank, and what better time to feel fed up with my life than when I’m depositing gobs of money for somebody else.

On Saturday morning, after the number drawing, I couldn’t find my ticket. I looked on every flat surface in my house. And when I finished doing that, I did it again, and again. I searched the kitchen garbage, twice — taking the trash out piece by piece, unraveling the crumpled grocery store receipts. Everything damp…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com