The Grace in ‘Thank You’

Being of service is a profound way of making a difference in the world. Be nice and show appreciation to those who serve.

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

--

Photo credit: Shutterstock

By Jon Ochiai

About a week into the “shelter-in-place” orders to reduce the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, I gradually immersed myself into my new normal. Teleworking from home on my three laptops has become my new normal. Now, I’m judiciously crafting my work so I can cut back to two laptops. I’m versed in Skype and accessing certified customer websites. Teleworking translates to more cooking at home, and more grocery shopping amidst the imposing scarcity narrative. Have you tried buying toilet paper at Target? Just asking.

During lunch, I stopped by my favorite Japanese supermarket in Torrance. After all, I’m a third-generation Japanese American. I located my favorite bento box lunch with rice, grilled salmon, and Japanese-style fried chicken. Yeah, it’s that good. I also found some produce and cleaning supplies that I needed for home.

I proceeded to the cashier counter. The grocery clerk checked my items and put them in my bags. I said, “Thank you.” The clerk, who was Japanese American, about my age, wearing her surgical mask, said, “Thank you for always saying ‘Thank you’.” I guessed that she was smiling. She explained…

--

--

The Good Men Project
Change Becomes You

We're having a conversation about the changing roles of men in the 21st century. Main site is https://goodmenproject.com Email us info@goodmenproject.com