Photo by Carl Barcelo on Unsplash

Three Lessons Yoga Taught Me About Mental Strength

It is not “you are already perfect.”

Onoceans
Published in
4 min readMay 6, 2020

--

I absolutely hated my first yoga class. I got into yoga in my early twenties, when Bikram yoga was all the rage among my friends. I finished a 30-day challenge where you go to a class every single day. Oh, the power of peer pressure! On day 30, I remember staring into the mirror, wondering what the heck I was doing. I have not only pushed myself way too hard without having the basics; I also despised sweating in 40 Celsius degrees (104F), doing the same poses.

I have given up for a while until I found a type of yoga I loved. After a lot of trial and error, I found an incredible yoga teacher. I owe him, and his no BS approach all my subsequent progress.

Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

Slow and steady all the way

There are countless studies on behavioural change, and on how we can go about changing habits. There is one thing everyone agrees on: start small.

Lasting change takes a lot of time. The human psyche fights to maintain the status quo. We have beliefs about ourselves deeply ingrained in us that we can only change by taking one step at a…

--

--

Onoceans
Change Becomes You

Solarpunk, ecological economist🪐 Rethinking culture, future, equality, science, climate 🌍 Big Picture& Brand Naming📧 For projects: ono@onoceans.com