When You Are Tired, Don’t Give Up, Give a Little

Understanding the difference is life-changing.

Sirene26
Change Becomes You

--

Photo by Anne Nygard from Unsplash

This post was sitting in my drafts for so long that I nearly gave up on it. Pun intended. But the context of this article proves my point; I gave a little; meaning I wrote 300 words and let it be, life happened and I came back to it today. How many times did we quit when all we needed was a little time?

The older I get, the more reflective I become and the more I think about projects I gave up on when I should have just let it simmer or be dormant for a little while.

If only we knew how long it would take us to reach that destination that we long for, right? Unfortunately, learning to live with that uncertainty is part of the game. And the saddest part is, sometimes we leave the game just before reaching the endpoint.

How can we find out? We can’t. What we can learn to do is to rest and take a step back when the going gets too tough.

Resting is harder than quitting

The irony is slowing down is harder than quitting. When you announce you are quitting, nobody is watching anymore. And you have also permitted yourself to relieve yourself of the mission. The case is closed and in a way, you give yourself the excuse that it was not meant to be.

--

--

Sirene26
Change Becomes You

Top writer. Life Lessons through Work|Health|Personal Growth. Self-published author : www.amazon.com/dp/B0BPYWN9F2