Would You Like To Be My Friend?: The Main Reason Why Children Can Be Friends With Anyone

Christine Lorelie
Change Becomes You
Published in
6 min readJan 12, 2021

--

Making friends as an adult is difficult and don’t even get me started talking about loneliness because I know the feeling all too well.

Too many times, I’ve asked myself the same questions over and over.

Why is it hard to make friends?

Am I doing something wrong?

Do I smell bad?

Is it my personality? The way I look?

Am I too selective?

Seriously, what is it?

To make friends, I’ve tried several things. I’ve created my own Meet-Up group, invited strangers to meet up, tried out Bumble BFF, and even asked a Starbucks barista if they wanted to hang out with me. Maybe I was desperate…no, I was.

And with the track record I have now, or lack of a track record, I am just about ready to throw my hands up in the air and wave them like I just don’t care.

But I care. I actually want to have friends. Not just acquaintances, but close friends.

But why can’t I?

--

--

Christine Lorelie
Change Becomes You

UX Researcher | Product Designer | Listener | Millennial | Writing about what it means to be human